

Surrey Elementary School Athletic Association AGM 2023 - 2024

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING AGENDA Wednesday, May 22, 2024

President: Carol McClean Vice President: Sara Semkiw

Meeting called to order: 4:00pm

- 1. President's Report and Welcome / Territorial Acknowledgement Carol McClean
- 2. Message from the School Board Laurae McNally
- 3. Adoption of 2023 2024 Agenda Sara Semkiw
 - Adopted, no objections
- 4. Adoption of 2022-23 AGM Minutes Sara Semkiw
 - Adopted, no objections
- 5. Executive Reports

Budget Report: Serge Hache / David A'Bear

- Report stands

Treasurer: Kerry Schwab

- Report stands

Convenor Reports (See attached)

Soccer: Taylor Weakes

No comments, report stands

Cross Country: Andrew Shook (East), Hina Rohira (North), Ross Davidson (South)

No comments, report stands

Volleyball: Jennifer Tarnowski

No comments, report stands

Basketball: Erik Henderson

No comments, report stands

Badminton: Michael Legge

No comments, report stands

Ultimate: Kim Buchanan, Paul Thompson

- Question about competitive aspects
 - Answered by Kim, why the competitive side was removed
- Report stands

Special Track Meet: Carol McClean, Neda Matterson, Marg Geddes

No comments, report stands

Track and Field: Ryan Bolton, Ross Davidson, Derrek Mullen, Joe O'Malley



Surrey Elementary School Athletic Association AGM 2023 - 2024

- No comments, report stands
- 6. Old Business Sara Semkiw
 - Handbook rewrite: ended up being larger than anticipated, only completed soccer, volleyball, and basketball (will complete next year)
- 7. New Business Carol McClean
 - No new business has been brought forward
- 8. Voting Procedures Carol McClean
- 9. Nomination of Sports Convenors for 2024 2025

Soccer: Taylor Weakes

Cross Country: Kim Susheski (East Zone)

Gia Sangara (North Zone) Ross Davidson (South Zone)

Potential – Brodie Halford (Central / West Zone)

Volleyball: Jennifer Tarnowski & Vanessa Wiebe

Basketball: Erik Henderson, Scott McIndoe, Leanne Jamieson

Badminton: Michael Legge

Ultimate: Kim Buchanan, Paul Thompson
Special Track Meet: Carol McClean, Neda Matterson

Track and Field: Ryan Bolton, Ross Davidson, Joe O'Malley

10. Election of New Officers for 2024 - 2025

President: Carol McClean Vice-President: Sara Semkiw

Secretary: Vacant

Treasurer: Kerry Schwab

Media: Christina Chan

Event Planner: Neda Matterson

Member At Large: Mike Wood

Administrative Rep: Jennifer Tarnowski STA Representative: Erik Henderson PE Helping Teacher: Serge Haché Surrey North: Laura Grills Surrey South: Haley Workun Surrey Central: **Hugh McDonald** Surrey East: Mike Folev? Surrey North – West: Carol McClean



Surrey Elementary School Athletic Association AGM 2023 - 2024

Surrey South – West: Elissa Nelson

Co-ed Coordinator: Vacant

11. Award Presentation

20 Year Coaching Awards

- Lauren Adams
- Rachelle Breg
- Susan Brogno
- Katherine Burden
- Pam Dhaliwal
- Michael Legge
- Kuldip Lidder
- Hugh McDonald
- Erica Mullan
- Derek Mullen
- Shobna Nathan
- Gurneet Pannu
- Tino Stumpf
- Kim Verrier

Ross Davidson Coaching Excellence Award

- Scott McIndoe
- Mike Wood

O'Malley - McNally Longevity Award

- Dan Alcock
- Steve Swaddling

12. Adjournment

- Motion to end the meeting called: (first) Derek Mullen, (seconded) Chris Humeston
- Meeting adjourned 5:00pm